WRAP Commemorates 41st Year in Fighting Drunk Driving and Underage Drinking


Washington, DC, October 20 – The nonprofit Washington Regional Alcohol Program (WRAP) commemorated its 41st year fighting drunk driving and underage drinking today via the organization’s 2023 Annual Meeting and WRAPPY Awards ceremony held at Clyde’s of Gallery Place in Washington. D.C.

Following a presentation by Deputy Attorney General of Virginia for Health Education and Social Services, the Honorable Robert B. Bell and who served as the 41st annual event’s Featured Speaker, WRAP bestowed the following honors:

2023 Community Partnership Award

  • AAA Mid-Atlantic
  • Arlington Restaurant Initiative
  • INOVA Trauma Center
  • Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments

2023 Law Enforcement Award

  • Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

2023 Youth Leadership Award

  • Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia

2023 Media Partnership Award

  • WTVR-TV (CBS, Richmond)

2023 Public Service Award

  • Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association

2023 Chairman’s Award

  • Jim Fell (NORC at the University of Chicago

2023 Public Partnership Award

  • District of Columbia Office of the Deputy Mayor for Operations and Infrastructure’s Highway Safety Office
  • Maryland Highway Safety Office / Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
  • Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles

2023 Corporate Sponsorship Award (contributing $ 5,000 or more to WRAP in FY 2023):

  • Amazon
  • Beer Institute
  • Brown-Forman
  • Constellation Brands
  • Diageo
  • District of Columbia Association of Beverage Alcohol Wholesalers
  • Enterprise Holdings
  • Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility
  • Giant Food
  • Glory Days Grill
  • Molson Coors
  • New Belgium Brewing
  • Transurban (Operator of 495, 95 and 395 Express Lanes)
  • Washington Area New Automobile Dealers Association

2023 Corporate Partnership Award:

  • Anheuser-Busch and Local Distributors

WRAP today also elected the following officers: Patrick Burke (Washington, D.C. Police Foundation), Chairman; Linda Watkins (INOVA Trauma Center), Vice Chairman; Mike Young (GEICO), Secretary; Jim Fell (NORC at University of Chicago), Treasurer; and Christopher Hennigh (Amazon, Retired Captain Arlington County Police Department), Immediate Past Chairman.

The charity also elected Keith Chmiel (Capital Eagle) and Bryan Porter (Commonwealth’s Attorney for the City of Alexandria) to its Board of Directors.

In addition, WRAP today elected the following three individuals as organizational Members: Lieutenant Justin Maas (Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office); Alison Hanrahan (Molson Coors); and Captain Scott Colwell (Fairfax County Police Department).

Sponsors of WRAP’s 2023 Annual Meeting & WRAPPY Awards included AAA Mid-Atlantic, Breakthru Beverage Group, the Coalition of Ignition Interlock Manufacturers, GMMB, McAndrew Company, Chris Tavlarides and Transurban.

Founded in 1982, the nonprofit [501(c)(3)] Washington Regional Alcohol Program (WRAP) is a coalition of diverse interests using effective education, innovative programs and targeted advocacy to end alcohol-impaired driving and underage drinking in the Washington, DC metro area. Through public education, innovative health education programs and advocacy. WRAP is credited with keeping the metro-Washington area’s alcohol-related traffic deaths historically lower than the national average. WRAP, however may best be known to area residents via the organization’s popular free safe ride service to prevent drunk driving, SoberRide®.

For more information, visit WRAP’s web site at www.wrap.org.